Instagram is constantly striving to limit negativity on their platform, which includes tackling cyberbullies and trolls. These types of users are prevalent on every social platform, however, Instagram is looking to the take the lead in suppressing the issue through small changes. Some of these small changes came in the form of hiding total like counts–with the intent of discouraging comparison between users and instead shifting focus back to the content being shared.
Instagram’s newest feature seeks to build on this trend. A new option called “Restrict” is being rolled out by Instagram with the intention of allowing users to limit the visibility of other users on their posts.
As explained by Instagram:
“You can restrict someone by swiping left on a comment, through the Privacy tab in Settings, or directly on the profile of the account you intend to restrict. Once Restrict is enabled, comments on your posts from a person you have restricted will only be visible to that person. You can choose to view their comment by tapping “See Comment;” approve the comment so everyone can see it; delete it; or ignore it. You won’t receive any notifications for comments from a restricted account.”
Explained a different way, it means you can shut down any commentor without them recognizing it. They will think their comments are being viewed by you and your followers, when in reality, they won’t be. This option is great for those who have repeated issues with users who may simply create new accounts after each one has been blocked. Additionally, using Restrict instead of blocking allows users to keep tabs on the counts harassing them–leaving the option to report their comments if they ever cross a line.
Instagram also rolled out a “Create Don’t Hate” sticker which when tapped, provides an explanation on Instagram’s stand against bullying.
What do you think about the Restrict feature? Do you agree with Instagram’s stance on cyberbullying? Comment below!