Recently, Facebook has been the center of controversy surrounding social media platforms selling users’ information to advertisers. While Facebook has worked steadily recently to make its policies and actions more transparent, they have now introduced a new feature that will steer them to a personalized, opt-in formatted system.

The feature is named “Off-Facebook Activity” and is a menu option users can access through their Facebook accounts. Through the menu, users have access to options such as:

  • A summary of the information other websites and/or apps have given to Facebook
  • Disconnecting this information from their account
  • Disconnecting all “Off-Facebook activity” from either certain apps or websites, or all apps and websites

 

According to CEO Mark Zuckerberg in the announcement:

“Other businesses send us information about your activity on their sites, and we use that information to show you ads that are relevant to you. Now you can see a summary of that information and clear it from your account if you want to. Off-Facebook Activity marks a new level of transparency and control.”

To access your “Off-Facebook Activity” menu, simply log onto Facebook on desktop and click the drop-down menu in the top right. Select “Settings” and then “Your Facebook Information” where you will see the “Off-Facebook Activity” option. After selecting that option, you will be given the option to either “manage your Off-Facebook activity” or “clear history.” You can also select “more options” to access or download your information, or manage future activity.

 

What do you think of this new privacy feature from Facebook? Let us know in the comments!